FCFCU History

From humble beginnings ...

Fulton County Teachers Federal Credit Union was founded on June 9, 1972 by ten forward-looking individuals who each contributed $2.50 for a National Credit Union Administration Charter.

Its humble beginnings were in a small, one-room office at Fulton-Montgomery Community College. There, members conducted transactions during limited hours a few times per week.

Over the past forty years, the Credit Union has evolved from its humble beginnings at FMCC to a modern facility, $69-Million in assets in assets and twenty-six employees who are dedicated to making the Credit Union work for its 10,000+ member/owners.

Also working for the members are eleven individuals who comprise the Credit Union's Board of Directors. These members volunteer their time and energy attending monthly board meetings, numerous committee meetings and an annual planning seminar. They are constantly educating themselves to stay current with the ever-changing, complex financial world.

On July 9, 2002, the National Credit Union Administration officially approved a name change for the credit union; therefore, the name was changed to Fulton County Federal Credit Union.

The current field of membership is more diverse since the inception of the credit union's charter in 1972. In lieu of the name change, Fulton County Federal Credit Union's commitment to its 10,000 members - teachers and non-teachers - remain the same.

Together, the board and the staff of the Credit Union are working to provide convenient, quality financial services that best meet the needs of the credit union's members, while insuring a strong financial institution.